New Travel Authorization Requirements for Americans Visiting Europe in 2024 Not a Visa


As the world becomes increasingly interconnected, travel regulations evolve to keep pace. Starting from 2024, a significant change is coming for American citizens who have plans to visit Europe. The European Union (EU) has decided to implement a new requirement known as the European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS).


Understanding ETIAS

The ETIAS is not a traditional visa. Instead, it’s a travel authorization designed to improve security across the Schengen Area, a region that encompasses most European countries. This system will help European authorities track visitors from countries that previously didn’t need a visa to enter the Schengen Zone, including the United States.


Why the Change?

The implementation of the ETIAS is part of the EU’s larger effort to bolster the security of its borders, manage migration more effectively, and protect public health. It requires Americans to complete an online application form before they travel. The form asks for information such as passport details, contact details, and health information. The process is designed to be quick and straightforward, with most applications approved within minutes.


European Countries where ETIAS will be required for USA citizens

Starting in 2024, American passport holders will need to secure an ETIAS (European Travel Information and Authorization System) authorization to visit a roster of 30 European countries. This requirement is a part of the European Union’s extensive efforts to bolster border security, manage migration more effectively, and ensure public health.


The list of countries requiring ETIAS authorization includes:


  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Bulgaria*
  4. Croatia
  5. Cyprus*
  6. Czechia (Czech Republic)
  7. Denmark
  8. Estonia
  9. Finland
  10. France
  11. Germany
  12. Greece
  13. Hungary
  14. Iceland
  15. Italy
  16. Latvia
  17. Liechtenstein
  18. Lithuania
  19. Luxembourg
  20. Malta
  21. Netherlands
  22. Norway
  23. Poland
  24. Portugal
  25. Romania*
  26. Slovakia
  27. Slovenia
  28. Spain
  29. Sweden
  30. Switzerland

Additionally, while not being members of the Schengen Area, Bulgaria, Romania, and Cyprus will also require ETIAS authorization.


The ETIAS authorization is a travel authorization, not a visa. It does not grant residency or work permissions; it’s purely a travel authorization system designed to improve security across the Schengen Area. The application process is expected to be quick and straightforward, with most approvals granted within minutes.


*Countries marked with an asterisk are EU members but not part of the Schengen Area. However, they still require ETIAS authorization for entry.


What This Means for American Travelers

While this new requirement represents a shift for American travelers accustomed to visa-free travel across Europe, it’s important to remember that the ETIAS is not as comprehensive or time-consuming as a traditional visa application process. Once granted, the ETIAS is valid for three years or until the end of validity of the passport registered during application, whichever comes first.



The introduction of the ETIAS in 2024 indicates some additional planning and preparation for American citizens intending to travel to Europe. However, the process is relatively straightforward and serves to provide safer and more secure travel across the European continent. As we move closer to the implementation date, American travelers should ensure they are well-informed about these upcoming changes to enjoy a hassle-free European adventure. Stay up to date with travel information on the Travel Blog.